Synchronicity: An eerie but exciting reality?

Yes I know SYNCHRONICITY it has absolutely nothing to do with the subject scope of this blog, but really I find myself eerily colliding with this concept more and more. 

So here is my most recent collision:

I was in the bus reading about Tuna Fisheries Development (as one does). As I was reading and I was making annotations in the margins (also as one does). Upon writing one comment in the margin I used the word ‘fraught’ and I spelled it ‘frought’. I thought to myself that just looked wrong. However I thought no more of it, and continued with my reading. Eventually I arrived in the City.  Got to work. Checked e-mails. I wanted to reference something and so trawled old e-mails thinking “I am sure I have something here”. I saw a very old e-mail among many old identical looking e-mails all with attachments that was entitled ‘Removing the Berlin Wall’. I don’t know why… There was absolutely no relevance between this e-mail and my present life (well at least that is what I thought). But for some cosmic reason I felt compelled to open it. So I did so. The email was blank so I opened the attachment which was a word document (an article on deconstructing the wall – literally). To my alarm right in the middle of the page of text – the very centre. Was the word ‘frought‘ with the Microsoft Word red ‘misspelled squiggle’ beneath it. As it happens it was the only word in the entire text with that misspelled squiggle beneath it. Consequently it grabbed my attention. Naturally I did what the word required me to do – I right clicked for the preferred spelling… and dear I say I was schooled by the universe via microsoft word – the correct spelling for ‘frought’ is ‘fraught‘.

Diagram of CG Jung's Schéma Synchronicité

Diagram of CG Jung's Schéma Synchronicité. The idea of synchronicity is that the conceptual relationship of minds, defined as the relationship between ideas, is intricately structured in its own logical way and gives rise to relationships that are not causal in nature. These relationships can manifest themselves as simultaneous occurrences that are meaningfully related. The definition of synchronicity as originally developed by Carl Gustav Jung. Jung coined the word to describe what he called "temporally coincident occurrences of acausal events." Jung variously described synchronicity as an "acausal connecting principle", "meaningful coincidence" and "acausal parallelism".

One thought on “Synchronicity: An eerie but exciting reality?

Leave a Reply

